Lake Ozark Criminal Law Expungement, Osage Beach Criminal Law Expungement, Camden Criminal Law Expungement, Miller Criminal Law Expungement, Morgan Criminal Law Expungement
Missouri's General Expungement StatuteDrunkenness or public intoxication
What are the requirements for a general expungement in Missouri (i.e. under RSMo. § 610.140)?
1. You were found guilty of certain crimes (see below for the full list of offenses that can be expunged);
2. Enough time has passed since you were found guilty (10 years for misdemeanors and 20 years for felonies from the end of your prison sentence or probation);
3. You have not been found guilty of another misdemeanor or felony since the offense (excludes minor traffic violations);
4. Your behavior warrants an expungement (subjective); and
5. Expunging your record would be consistent with public welfare.
What crimes can be expunged in Missouri under the general expungement statute?
First offense DWI (DWIs are a little different than the rest. See below for more details)
Fraudulently stopping payment of an instrument
Fraudulently using a credit or debit device
Misdemeanor offenses of negligently burning or exploding
Negligently setting a fire
Passing bad checks
Peace disturbance (class B or C misdemeanors)
Property damage (second degree)
Tampering (second degree)
Trespass in the first degree
How long do I have to wait to get an expungement under the general expungement statute?
For a misdemeanor, 10 years must have elapsed
For a felony, 20 years must have elapsed
The clock starts running when you have completed your imprisonment or any period of probation or parole.
What if I plead guilty to multiple charges?
For each court in Missouri, you get one chance for an expungement. As a result, it is important that you work with your attorney to ensure that all possible expunge-able offenses have been included in your petition to the court. If you have offenses over multiple counties, you may apply separately in each county to request an expungement.